Author Archives: admin

MLL Championship 2018

The Rattlers earned their spot in the final game of the season by defeating the New York Lizards at home in the semi-final round last Saturday by a score of 15-12. With a win against the Outlaws, the Rattlers would become the first professional team in the Dallas/Fort Worth metroplex to win their league’s championship since the Dallas Mavericks won the NBA title in 2011.

The Dallas Rattlers will play the Denver Outlaws for the Major League Lacrosse Championship at MUSC Health Stadium in Charleston, South Carolina on Saturday, August 18 at 6 p.m. CT/7 p.m. ET.

Since relocating from Rochester, New York in November 2017, the Rattlers have earned an MLL-best 11-3 regular season record, secured the first seed in the playoffs, and averaged the league’s second highest average attendance. During the first season at Ford Center, the Rattlers have had three players named to the 2018 MLL All-Star Game, four players win a world title with Team USA, and three players nominated for MLL Honors including Jordan Wolf for Most Valuable Player.

Head coach Bill Warder is also a finalist for Coach of the Year and has attributed the team’s success to a strong motivation to avenge last year’s semi-final loss to the Outlaws. “These guys believed early on back in November that we could do this. We have unfinished business to take care of now,” said Warder.

Going into the championship game, the Rattlers will face a tough Outlaws squad that currently leads the league in scoring. Scoring may become difficult for Denver with Rattlers faceoff specialist Drew Simoneau helping the Rattlers to a league-high 55.3% win rate at the X.

The first meeting of the two teams was an early season matchup that saw the Rattlers take a 15-14 overtime win at home. The second meeting happened in late July with both rosters missing players due to the 2018 FIL World Lacrosse Championships. Despite missing stars Jordan Wolf, Joel White, John Galloway, Ned Crotty, Ty Thompson, and Randy Staats, the Rattlers managed to defeat the Outlaws 13-12 in regulation.

The third and final game this season between the two contenders is setting up to be one of the most exciting games in lacrosse history. For tickets and information about planning your trip to Charleston, please click here